Menu Search through site content What are you looking for?

UK Government sanctions 386 Russian Politicians

  • Legal Development 11 March 2022 11 March 2022
  • UK & Europe

  • Crisis-Ukraine-Russia

The UK Government has today (11 March 2022) announced sanctions against 386 members of the Russian parliament who voted to recognise two rebel-held regions in Eastern Ukraine Luhansk and Donetsk, as independent. The announcement means that 400 of the 450 members of Russia’s Duma, are now subject to British sanctions.

The sanctions include asset freezes, UK travel bans and a prohibition on conducting business in the UK.

UK Foreign Secretary, Liz Truss, explained that the sanctions were intended to target those who are “complicit in Putin's illegal invasion of Ukraine and those who support this barbaric war".

The UK sanctions list is available here: The UK Sanctions List - GOV.UK (



Stay up to date with Clyde & Co

Sign up to receive email updates straight to your inbox!